Board Directors as elected at the 2019 Netball NT AGM

Catherine Sansom: President


Catherine Sansom has been the NT Netball President since 2016.

Catherine is currently a primary school teacher and recently a mum to a beautiful daughter.

Being 11 years in the Territory she has been a coach of many school teams and also a manager of the Netball NT teams.

For 5 years Catherine was the President of Palmerston Netball Association and successfully grew the association after the opening of the new courts.


Catherine’s words:  “My  passion is to ensure that all members of the NT community can experience this amazing sport and have access to the best facilities and coaches.”


Melissa Yates: Treasurer


Melissa is an Associate with Ward Keller Lawyers working in their succession and estate planning and civil litigation (specialising in construction litigation) areas.

A Solicitor with over 10 years’ experience, Melissa has graduate and post-graduate qualifications in Law, Accounting and Biotechnology.

She has been a member of boards and local not-for-profit incorporated associations (including a ministerial appointment to Bremer TAFE in Queensland) for nearly 20 years and brings a great deal of governance, risk management and corporate experience to the board, with a passion for using her skills and experience to benefit the local community.

Mark Coffey : Elected Director

Mark Coffey Netball Northern Territory Board Member

Mark heads up the Office of Northern Australia for the Commonwealth Government and was previously a Police Officer.

Mark has lived and worked across the Northern Territory for nearly 35 years in various locations and now lives in Alice Springs.  Mark has been involved in sport across the NT both as a player and administrator and was previously a board member of AFL NT. 

Mark is currently the Chair of the Connellan Airways Trust, a member of the Parole Board and Public Officer of Harts Range Amateur Race Club.

‘I would like to see Netball NT have a more financially sustainable future and provide pathways for our talented athletes to play in the best competitions in the country.’

Tahlia Lee : Nominated Director

Shannon Millar : Elected Director

Netball Northern Territory Board Member

  • Played netball for over 20 years, NT representative U17’s and U 19’s, ANL Storm player and captain, QLD State League Player.
  • Coaching netball for over 15 years, current Hoggies Premier League Coach
  • Over 13 years experience in Customer Services and Head of Customer Service and Operations for an international gaming company.
  • Former DNA Player Representative (on the committee for 12 months.

Josine Wynberg : Nominated Director

Rachel Boyce : Elected Director

Life Members of Netball NT

1988  Shirley Richards

1991  Patricia Gallagher

1991  Ann Hosking

1991  Margaret McPherson

1999  Sandy Mackintosh

1999  Karen Schneider

1999  Riley Wing

2011  Helen Smith

2011  David Yeaman

2011  Thea Pearce