Netball Northern Territory (NNT) has selected its 2019 state representative team for the Deakin University Australian Netball League (DUANL). Played in various cities across Australia, the DUANL will see six states and two territories battle it out for the 2019 title over seven weeks. The DUANL is a vital pathway for the identification and development of elite athletes in Australia as it bridges the gap between state league competitions and Suncorp Super Netball.


The Territory Storm commenced training late last year and the team will attend a final training camp in the Sunshine Coast in March in preparation for the start of the competition. NNT Pathways Manager Penny Shearer who has been working closely with the 2019 team members said “the athletes have been working hard in training and we look forward to seeing them put all of that together at the camp”.


Joining the team as Head Coach this year is Christine Voge, the current Pathways Coach at Sunshine Coast Lightning. Voge will be assisted by Alice Springs based coach Lauren Wapling and Darwin based physiotherapist Dorianne Sherry. Netball NT has a unique partnership with the Sunshine Coast Lightning team which provides their squad players with an opportunity to play with Territory Storm in the DUANL. Under the partnership between the two teams, four Sunshine Coast Lightning Training Partners (SCLTP) will join the Storm squad to complement the skill level of the Territory side.


After a highly competitive year for the Territory Storm in the 2018 Australian Netball League competition, the team will now look for consistency across each quarter to improve on their more recent performances and strive for the competition Finals Series.


The Territory Storm will begin their DUANL campaign on the 4th of May against WA Sting in Perth.


Full Territory Storm team list:

Sienna Allen (SCLTP), Lucinda Benjamin, Chanel Dyer (SCLTP), Katie Elmer, Bethany Fry, Binnian Hunt (SCLTP), Shay Maloney, Courtney Murphy, Stephanie O’Brien, Dana Schembri, Ashlee Unie (SCLTP), Sarapheinna Woulf, Christine Voge (Head Coach), Lauren Wapling (Assistant Coach), Dorianne Sherry (Physiotherapist).